Members of the state champion Aurora Houn' Dawg baseball team have recently been recognized with various awards for their individual and team performances over the 2018 season.

In addition to the usual postseason awards, the Houn' Dawgs were recognized Monday night as the Boys Team of the Year at the Sports Commission Awards in Springfield. The team was nominated alongside Carthage track and field, Lamar cross country, Lamar football, Webb City football and Walnut Grove basketball. Senior Wyatt Sparks brought home the individual baseball award, as well.

Other Aurora nominees on the night included the cheerleading squad and the marching band.

A large percentage of the baseball Dawgs' starting lineup received All-District and All-Conference honors, including:

First team All-District -- Austin Erickson, Gage Singer, Matthew Miller, Wyatt Sparks

Second team All-District -- Miah Fisher

First team All-Conference -- Wyatt Sparks (Player of the Year), Austin Erickson, Matthew Miller, Gage Singer, Miah Fisher

Second team All-Conference -- Gage Singer, Ryan Cline, Austin Erickson

Head coach James Hoffman was also named the Big 8 Coach of the Year. Look for the All-State award recipients in a future edition of the Advertiser.