Lawrence County voters will have an opportunity in April to consider replacing the surcharge on telephone land lines with a half-cent county-wide sales tax to fund central dispatching of 911 emergency services.

If the measure passes, 911 services in Lawrence County will come under the control of a board made up of representatives of the fire protection districts, ambulance districts, sheriff’s department, municipalities, any other emergency service and the general public.

That board would be its own political entity and would determine how best to provide 911 services to the citizens of Lawrence County.

Lawrence County Commission voted to place the sales tax on the ballot, and by statute, it is responsible for appointing the initial board. After that, positions on the board would be filled by election. With the board in place, the county commission would relinquish its role in the administration of 911 services, according to the statute.

The action followed a series of meetings by the 911 advisory board to determine how best to fund 911 since the traditional revenue source -- 911 surcharges on telephone land lines -- has been drying up.

Currently, most emergency personnel in the county are dispatched by Monett-Lawrence County 911 through agreements with the City of Monett. Those will expire in 2019.

Also on the ballot will be elections for the following offices:


R-VII Board of Directors (three-year term) -- Linda Gates, Kevin Hilton, Lisa Army Mayor (two-year term) -- Joseph Heck, Sheila Massengill Alderman-at-large (two-year term) -- Claude Carr, Joseph Heck, Michael Haynes, Denise White


R-9 School District board of directors (three-year term) -- Brandon L. White, Carol Brown, Robert "Bob" Duda Jr. Alderman, Ward I (two-year term) -- Tammy Stafford, Dale Blankenship Alderman, Ward II (two-year term) -- Kay Leffingwell Alderman, Ward III (two-year term) -- no candidates listed


City council (three-year term) -- Dawn Marie Oplinger, Lisa Rentfro, Steve Ramirez

Aurora voters will also have a ballot question to decide whether to extend the boundaries of the Aurora Rural Fire Protection District to include certain property.

The election will take place on Tuesday, April 2.