Many local students have recently graduated from high school and are looking forward to their first semester of college in the fall. A number of those students will have some financial burdens lifted after receiving various scholarships for their hard work and accomplishments throughout high school, including the following.

Missouri School Boards Association

Kendall Meyer, a senior from the Aurora R-VIII School District, is the regional winner of a $1,000 scholarship awarded by FutureBuilders, the education foundation of the Missouri School Boards’ Association.

MSBA and FutureBuilders established the scholarship program in memory of John T. Belcher, who was instrumental in developing innovative financing programs for Missouri school districts. The learning environment for thousands of Missouri's public schools students was improved as a result of his work.

A $1,000 scholarship is awarded to a student in each of MSBA's 17 regions. From that group a statewide winner will be selected. Applicants were judged on the basis of academic performance, extracurricular activities and the quality of an essay. More than 190 applications were submitted this year.

The Missouri School Boards’ Association is a private, not-for-profit organization that exists to help school districts succeed.

Ohio State University

Meyer was also the recipient of a $1,000 CFAES Academic Merit Scholarship. The College of Food, Agricultural and Environment Sciences awarder her based on her application, academic record, test scores and leadership achievements in the school and/or community.

Ohio State CFAES awards incoming freshmen and first quarter transfer students in the college sizable scholarships, some which may be renewable based on continued high academic achievement.

MFA Foundation

Martina Faith Morrill, a graduating senior at Billings R-IV High School, has won a $2,000 MFA Foundation scholarship. The scholarship was awarded at the school's awards assembly.

Morrill is the daughter of Elizabeth and Robert Morrill and has plans to attend Missouri State University.

The scholarship was sponsored by MFA Oil and Propane of Aurora. It is one of approximately 340 scholarships presented this year by MFA Incorporated, MFA Oil Company and their affiliates.