Aurora band members from the junior high and high school performed for family, friends and judges the past two weekends at music festivals, earning top ratings for their performances.

On April 21, 39 junior high band members took part in the Mid-America Music Festival on the campus of Pittsburg State University. As part of the festival, the students performed in solo and small ensemble settings in front of judges who are specialists in the students’ specific instrument field. The judges provided constructive feedback to each performer and also commended the high level of preparation and professional performance etiquette of the Aurora students as a whole. Mrs. Mona Thach served as the piano accompanist for soloists.

Soloists receiving Gold Medals were:

Ivy Lawson, flute Kate Schiller, flute Brittney Simagna, flute Breanna Koetzle, clarinet Daniel Jones, tenor sax Logan Rysted, trumpet Emily Gearhart, trombone Olivia Ray, trombone Kris Bradbury, euphonium Hunter Lamb, timpani

Ensembles receiving Blue Ribbons included:

Axel Merriman, Emma Pruett and Hailey Chapman -- woodwind trio Ivy Lawson, Brittney Simagna and Breanna Koetzle -- woodwind trio Olivia Abramovitz, Ivy Lawson, Brittney Simagna and Destiny Montgomery -- woodwind quartet Addison Carsten, Mercedes Jung and Emma Rosencrans -- trumpet trio Isaac Abney, Damien Cruz and Melissa Tate -- trumpet trio Duncan Clever, James Rogers and Levi Tate -- horn trio Duncan Clever, Emily Gearhart and Olivia Ray -- brass trio Kris Bradbury, Emily Gearhart, Olivia Ray and Dallas Whitson -- trombone quartet James Rogers, Levi Tate, Matthew Hembree and Xane Shirley -- brass quartet Eli Abramovitz, Damien Cruz, Logan Rysted, Luke Willhite, Joseph McPherson and Nathan Gearhart -- brass sextet

Soloists receiving Silver Medals were:

Hailey Chapman, clarinet Cesar Garcia, clarinet Mikailey Butts, bari sax Daniel Smith, trombone Dallas Whitson, trombone

Ensembles receiving Red Ribbons were:

Mikailey Butts, Michael Rhea, Daniel Jones and Janie Hill -- saxophone quartet Angelina Alcoba, Josh Cornell and Olivia Farris -- snare drum trio

On April 27, eleven high school band members took solos and ensembles to the MSHSAA State Solo and Small Ensemble Festival hosted by the University of Missouri in Columbia. These students earned this state level performance by receiving the top rating at the district festival held earlier this year. Dr. David Giles of Springfield served as the piano accompanist for the soloists.

Earning a Gold Medal for solos at state were:

Hayden Crockett, marimba Zane Price, tuba Kaleb Sharpe, alto saxophone

Silver Medalists from Aurora included:

Jonathan Denton -- trumpet trio James Francisco -- horn solo and brass quintet Megan Gearhart -- trumpet trio and brass quintet Josh Howard -- brass quintet Kendall Meyer -- bassoon solo Zane Price -- brass quintet Mason Ray -- brass quintet Melissa Tate -- trumpet trio

And earning a Bronze Medal for a horn solo was Hope Murphy.