The Elk Horn Prairie Chapter of The Daughters of the American Revolution held its annual Honors Tea on April 5 at the Aurora Community Center at 1:00. Every year, in the hope of preserving freedom by stimulating a deeper understanding of American History, members of DAR all over the United States sponsor two essay contests for students in public, parochial and sanctioned home schools. One contest is for grades 5-8, and the other is for high school students 9-12.

At the Honors Tea event, Regent Noralee Faulkner welcomed students, parents, grandparents, administrators, teacher, counselors and members. She gave a brief history of the Chapter and everyone said The Pledge of Allegiance to the US Flag and sang The Star Spangled Banner before winners were announced, awards given and photographs taken.

Area schools of Shell Knob, Mt. Vernon, and Crane participated. Each grade school winner received a certificate, bronze medal and a presidential dollar. Winners' essays were also submitted to the state competition. Each school's winners were as follows.

Mt. Vernon

Fifth grade -- Raegan Pendleton, first place; Luke Robbins, second place Sixth grade -- Akaymi Cummins, first place, state winner; Reese Barrett, second place Seventh grade -- Lilliauana Goodnight, first place; Lilly Belanger, second place Eighth grade -- Isabelle Davis, first place; Benjamin McKay, second place

Shell Knob

Sixth grade -- Amber Hayes, first place; Dre Jines, second place Seventh grade -- Ethan Dias, first place; Issac Hadlow, second place Eighth grade -- Avery Crain, first place; Holly Sherfy, second place


Seventh grade -- Kate Horn, first place Eighth grade -- Jacob Johnson, first place; Aubree Chisam, second place

This year's entries in the Christopher Columbus Essay Contest were on the subject of “Advantages and Disadvantages of Working Relationships Between Foreign Parties."

The Aurora High School winners were Ethan Mooneyham, first place, and Alexandria Johnson, second place.

Students were also recognized as winners of the DAR Good Citizens Senior Award. The following students were presented with a certificate, DAR pin and a card:

Emmaleigh Gabriella Stone, Aurora Maggie Page Vaught, Crane Kinsey Ann Stephens, Galena Kaysi Jeanne Evans, Hurley Emily Christine Geisendorfer, Marionville Spencer Clyde Jones, Mt. Vernon Andie Lynn Neuenschwander, Miller Dustin Leroy Prier, Verona

After awards were presented, benediction was given by Myrna Fischer, delicious refreshments were served and photos taken. Hostesses for the event were Eleanor Cooper, Myrna Fischer, Carol Ann Pilkenton, Sue Grimm, Margaret Seburn and Barbara Cohu.