City council and school board positions were filled in Aurora, Marionville and Verona this week, as voters came out to have their voices heard at the polls in the Tuesday election. Additionally, citizens decided questions for their cities, including the vote in Verona to annex the city into the Aurora Rural Fire Protection District. Verona voters came out in favor of the measure, with 58 percent of the 96 votes coming in on the "yes" side.

In Marionville's special bond election, the "yes" votes were overwhelming, as 80 percent of the 453 total votes were in favor of increasing the current debt service property tax levy in order to construct a storm shelter on the school campus. At no additional cost to the taxpayers, the shelter building will also serve as a high school music facility, and the bond will also cover additional renovations to various parts of the district's facilities.

In addition to the fire district question, Verona voters made big decisions in the aldermen at large race. The city's board of aldermen -- having operated for nearly a year with just three members instead of the usual four -- will be at full strength again, as LaDonna Jenkins Buzard and Sheila Massengill were chosen to fill two seats. The two received 68 and 67 votes, respectively, while Enrique Salas Perez and incumbent Linda Gates received 26 and 25. The Verona school board election saw the re-election of Jeff Hillhouse (130 votes) and Donnie Craft (84 votes).

Another incumbent running for re-election came up short in Aurora, as Steve Ramirez came in 17 votes behind Donald McWade for the second available seat on the city council. McWade will join Doyle Furguson, who received the most votes in the race, on the council.

Current city councilman David "Larry" Marks was denied a seat on the school board, as voters chose Jeramie Grosenbacher and Mark McCully to remain on the board for the R-VIII school district.

In Marionville, Chris Murphy and Doris Rapp received the necessary votes to essentially swap places on the board of aldermen, as Murphy ran unopposed for mayor, while Rapp defeated Daniel Clevenger for the Ward I seat. In Ward II, incumbent Kay Leffingwell was voted out in favor of Melissa Freeman, while Jessica Wilson retained her Ward III seat after running unopposed.

Overall, a total of 3,325 ballots were cast throughout Lawrence County, accounting for 14.25 percent of the 23,340 registered voters.