On January 6, at Joplin High School, select groups of Aurora High School Band members performed for the public as part of two Southwest Missouri Music Educators Association honor ensembles.

Kendall Meyer, Tessa Lisk, Rachel Smith, Megan Gearhart, James Francisco, Devyn Thurman, Nathaniel Ford and Zane Price joined approximately 90 area students in the SWMMEA All-District Honor Band, under the direction of University of Oklahoma band director, Dr. Michael Hancock. The members of the All-District ensemble earned their seats through an audition process earlier in the school year.

Madison Clifford, Haley Garoutte, Kaleb Sharpe, Melissa Tate, Hope Murphy, Mason Ray, Abbi Ward, Randall Gryder and Noah Pruett joined nearly 110 regional students in the Directors’ Choice All-Conference Band. The members of the Directors’ Choice Band were either alternates for the All-District band or were nominated by their band directors. Ms. Melissa Goff, former Blue Springs South band director and current Palen Music representative, conducted the ensemble.