The Elk Horn Prairie Chapter of The Daughters of the American Revolution held its annual Honors Tea on April 6 at the Aurora Community Center. Every year, in the hope of preserving freedom by stimulating a deeper understanding of American History, members of DAR all over the United States sponsor two essay contests for students in public, parochial and sanctioned home schools.

One contest is for grades 5-8 and the other is for high school students in grades 9-12. The Good Citizens are seniors who exemplify good citizen qualities. The American History Contest Chairman for the Elk Horn Prairie chapter was Barbara Cohu and the American Good Citizen Chairman was Myrna Fischer.

This year, the chapter received entries in the essay contest on the subject of “Celebrating a Century: America’s National Parks” from area schools of Shell Knob, Mt. Vernon and Verona. The high school entries were from Mrs. Kim Mobley’s classes in Aurora on “Technology’s Impact on the Voyage of Christopher Columbus.”

Each grade school winner received a certificate and a presidential dollar. The overall winners received a certificate, bronze medal and a presidential dollar. The Good Citizens received a certificate, wallet card and pin that their parent pinned on them. Winners included:

Fifth Grade

Mt. Vernon: Joshua Popa -- first Place, essay submitted to state; Reese Barrett -- second place

Shell Knob: Amber Hayes -- first place; Dre W. Jines -- second place

Sixth Grade

Shell Knob: Kylie Martin -- first place, essay submitted to state; Isaac Hadlow -- second place

Mt. Vernon: Lilliaunna Goodnight -- first place; Lilly Belanger -- second place

Seventh Grade

Mt. Vernon: Curtis Meyer -- first place, essay submitted to state; Ben McKay -- second place

Shell Knob: Avery Crain -- first place; Dalton Anderson -- second place

Eighth Grade

Shell Knob: Olivia Elliot -- first place, essay submitted to state; Haylie Rickard -- second place

Mt. Vernon: Ariel Carroll -- first plac; Andrew Romine -- second place

Verona: Courtney Freiburger -- first place

11th and 12th Grade

Aurora 11th grade: Ally Grosenbacher -- first place, essay submitted to state; Brady King -- second place

Aurora 12th grade: Brett Schellen -- first place, essay submitted to state; Morgan Montgomery -- second place

DAR Good Citizens

Jeffrey Link Bodeen -- Aurora High School, Madison Leann Fulp -- Crane High School, Makayla Joe Easley -- Galena High School, Austin Kyle Chamberlain -- Hurley High School, Tori Mikel Brown -- Marionville High School, Mary Christine Spencer -- Mt. Vernon High School, Jessica Emily Nield -- Miller High School and Kayin Lee -- Verona High School

Hostess for the event were Fischer, Sue Grimm, Linda Love, Carol Ann Pilkenton, Eleanor Cooper, Margaret Seburn and Cohu.

Benediction was given by Fischer, refreshments were served and photos taken.